Author Archives: cssadmin

Punching the air

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo. The story that I thought was my life didn’t start on the day…

Weaving Our School Culture

Thanks to our Indigenous Education Department, Ms. Cizeron, and Quw’utsun’ weaver Cheryl Joe, our school has started a school-wide Coast Salish weaving project. Ms. Joe will be coming around to every class to teach students and staff about weaving. By the end of the project, everyone in the school will have made a small woven…

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

“A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mother’s religion and her own relationship to the world. Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let…

DEAR – Drop Everything And Read

DEAR is happening on Monday, October 26th! At 9:30 a.m. (or anytime in the morning) join us in the library or from anywhere you are to read for 20+ minutes. When you’re done, take a book selfie (booksie? bookie?) and post it to Instagram with hashtags #CSSReads #DEAR2020. Your post will be your entry for…